Indian Super League ISL 2016 Football Matches in Chennai

The Hero Indian Super League (ISL 2016) is the annual Indian football league tournament held at various venues across India. ISL 2016 being held this year is the third edition, and the first and second editions were won by Atlético de Kolkata and Chennaiyin FC, respectively.

According to the organizer’s website, their vision is to enable India to become a global football power and qualify for the 2026 FIFA World Cup. Hence, through this tournament, they wish to encourage masses to start playing football, create a pool of quality players, and engage Indian football fans.

The following 8 teams are participating in this tournament: NorthEast United FC, Mumbai City FC, Kerala Blasters FC, FC Pune City, FC Goa, Delhi Dynamos FC, Chennaiyin FC and Atlético de Kolkata.

Our own Chennai is represented by Chennaiyin F.C., co-owned by M S Dhoni, Abhishek Bachchan & Vita Dani. The Manager of the team is Marco Materazzi, the key player who helped Italy win the 2006 FIFA World Cup. The Team’s logo is Drishti Bommai, if you did not notice 😉

Here is the schedule for Chennaiyin F.C. matches to be held in Chennai at Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium (7 P.M.) (See the full list of fixtures from here.)

  1. Oct. 6, Thu: Chennaiyin FC vs. Delhi Dynamos FC
  2. Oct. 13, Thu: Chennaiyin FC vs. FC Goa
  3. Oct. 29, Sat: Chennaiyin FC vs. Kerala Blasters FC
  4. Nov. 2, Wed: Chennaiyin FC vs. Mumbai City FC
  5. Nov. 15, Tue: Chennaiyin FC vs. FC Pune City
  6. Nov. 20, Sun: Chennaiyin FC vs. Atlético de Kolkata
  7. Nov. 26, Sat: Chennaiyin FC vs. NorthEast United FC

These are the fixtures for league matches only, the venues for semi-finals and finals are yet to be decided.

You can buy Tickets Online for ISL 2016 from Bookmyshow website.


Enter your email address to receive an email on Friday Nights with a list of Weekend Events & Entertainment (+) Viral News & Happenings in Chennai.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *